The Fourth Annual Capsule Wardrobe Challenge

February 15, 2011 § Leave a comment

My Crazy Hat

My crazy hat

As may be gathered from my first post,  I want to use this blog to record and inspire change in the way I live my life.  A relatively easy way I have already started to do this is to change the way I dress.  Spending three years either pregnant or breastfeeding changed my relationship with clothes.  I very rarely found much joy in what I wore.  Please don’t misunderstand.  I LOVED being pregnant with my babies.  And I LOVED breastfeeding.  That was probably a big part of why fashion took such a back seat.  However, perhaps I pushed it too far back.  As if I was trying to forget about it.  Of course I never did.  My shabby appearance played on my mind.  It joined with a chorus of other voices whispering about matters I was trying to ignore.  That’s right I have ISSUES.  And like I said,  writing this blog is hopefully going to help me with them, starting with sorting out the way I dress.

A big helping hand in tackling the issue of an appropriate wardrobe has been reading other people’s blogs.  I was very interested in the concept of a ‘capsule wardrobe’.  Limited funds and limited time to get ready mean my clothes have to offer very good bang for their buck.  This is what lead me to the Capsule Wardrobe Challenge run by Jane of The Small Fabric of My Life.  The concept of limiting your wardrobe in various ways was de rigour in 2010.  Large groups of people joined up to be challenged by the rules of  The Great American Apparel Diet and Six Items or Less.  To me though, Jane’s challenge seemed like more fun.  Less of an extreme sport.  So this time, I’m in.

The rules for this round of the challenge are pretty straightforward:

Choose ten items of clothing from your wardrobe and mix and match them for five days between Monday February 14th and Friday February 18th.
You can have any combination of shoes, dresses, skirts, tops and jackets as long as it adds up to ten individual items.
You are also allowed five accessories which include jewellery, scarves, bag, belts etc.
Underwear and hosiery do not come under the ten items and five accessories!

So here’s what I chose:

Whole Capsule Wardrobe for 2011 Challenge

Capsule Wardrobe for 2011 Challenge

Clothes (from left to right):

1.  Floral long-line singlet top, Valleygirl

2.  Coral tab-sleeved long-line cardigan, Capture (Ezibuy)

3.  Black long-line vest, with crochet insert at back, Dotti

4.  Charcoal merino wool cardigan, Capture (Ezibuy)

5.  Coral marle frill singlet top, Dotti

6.  Striped maxi dress, Maxim

7.  Black harem pants, Capture (Ezibuy)

8.  Leopard print harem pants, Dotti

9.  Cross-training shoes, Asics

10.  Silver sandals, Birkenstock

Some of my accessories are also pictured:

1.  Black leather cross-body bag, Madame Mooi

2.  Coral linen scarf, gift

3.  Hat (pictured at the beginning of the post)

The challenge is a little bit different for me than for many of the participants because where I live we are currently meant to experiencing Summer, so I don’t need to incorporate so many layers.  We do sometimes experience a cold snap, and that’s why I have the wool cardigan and scarf.  Looking at the forecast I don’t expect to need those items, but you never can tell.  I’ll be attempting to write a post for each day I do the challenge.  Hopefully, I’ll experience some insights to share.  Even better, people will offer me tips on how to stretch my wardrobe even further.

I expect that’s enough for this post.

God Bless,

Aunty Tess

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Fourth Annual Capsule Wardrobe Challenge at God Bless Aunty Tess.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

